twitter facebook

The Final Eight of Purvītis Prize! 0

After evaluating all of the 29 artists nominated for Purvītis Prize in years 2011 and 2012, a panel of experts has named the eight finalists. The candidates for Purvītis Prize 2013 are… 


Andris Breže for exhibition “Life in Piece” (Miera dzīve) at gallery “Alma” / 05.10.2012.–09.01.2013.

Miķelis Fišers for exhibition “Megamatter” (Lielviela) at the Arsenāls Exhibition Hall of the Latvian National Museum of Art / 29.11.2012.–20.01.2013. 

Ivars Drulle for exhibition “Based on True Events” (Balstīts uz patiesiem notikumiem) at gallery “Alma” / 28.04.– 10.06.2011.

Andris Eglītis for exhibition “Soil Works” (Zemes darbi) at Mūkusala Art Salon / 02.09–08.10. 2011.

Gļebs Panteļejevs for exhibition “Ornithology” (Ornitoloģija) at the Latvian National Museum of Art / 09. 09.–23.10.2011.

Krišs Salmanis for exhibition “Fragility of Trust” (Uzticēšanās trauslums) at gallery “Alma” / 28.05–27.07.2012. 
and for video piece “The Long Day” (Garā diena) at the contemporary art festival “Survival Kit 4” / 06.09.–16.09.2012.

Andrejs Grants for solo exhibition “Photographs 1980–2010” (Fotogrāfijas 1980–2010) at the Latvian National Museum of Art / 01.04.–22.05.2011.

Harijs Brants for drawing exhibition “Portraits” (Portreti) at gallery “Māksla XO” / 09.06.–05.07. 2011.

“Panel of experts made this decision relatively unanimously. In the final group session we discussed the candidature of 17 artists,” informs Laima Slava, a representative of the expert panel.

The laureate of Purvītis Prize 2013, which will be determined by an international jury with foreign experts, is going to be announced on 15th of February, 2013, when an exhibition of all eight candidates’ work will also be revealed. The exhibition is curated by Daiga Rudzāte.

Along the announcement of the Purvītis Prize finalists, a new website has also been launched. In three languages – English, Russian and Latvian – it will inform the followers of Latvian contemporary art of Purvītis Prize, its goals, candidates and laureates, the jury and its mission as well as the history of this prize. The website has been designed by Kirils Kirasirovs.